“Sleep to Dream”

Well, today has been a really lovely day, not least of all because I came home this afternoon to find my two beautiful contributor’s copies of Lady Churchill’s Rosebud Wrislet in the mailbox.  My short-short story “Sleep” appears in No. 26, which you can order here.  Or, if you’re interested in receiving excellent slipstream, fantasy and speculative fiction in your mailbox four times yearly, you can subscribe.  I recommend the subscription plan that includes a chocolate bar with every issue.  Oh, yes.

But that wasn’t the only wonderful thing to happen today.  After class today, I convinced my dad to go downtown for ice cream (wintertime ice cream is kind of a traditional father-daughter thing for us), where we found that the City Dock, as it often is after a heavy rain, was flooded.  Since I’m writing a novel about a cataclysmic flood in Annapolis, I giddily pulled out my camera and took some pictures:

Never let me claim that I’m a great photographer, but trust me when I say it was very pretty!  A brisk wind was blowing so there were quick-moving waves in all the puddles, and the light has this wonderful crispness to it.  Just a beautiful day.  But cold!  (And don’t let anyone tell you differently — I’m looking at you, Dad!)

Which reminds me, anyone care to weigh in on a little issue my dad and I were discussing this afternoon?  Does eating or drinking something cold when you’re cold make you feel colder?  Does consuming something warm make you feel warmer?  I say yes, my dad says no.  Anyone have an argument from experience, or, better yet, actual science?

And as if ice cream, floods, and LCRW weren’t enough, the loveliness of this day just kept coming.  If I believed in luck, I’d probably be on my way to Atlantic City right now, but I don’t, so instead I spent the evening working on grad school applications and then baked some cookies.

5 Things:

German chocolate cake ice cream.

My story in print!

My beautiful new velvet blazer.

Michelle!

“Hey, bartender there’s a big bug in my beer.”

4 Comments

Filed under Journal

4 responses to ““Sleep to Dream”

  1. ali

    beautiful photos! I love that I can remember walking around that very area, un-flooded, last summer when I visited, too! 🙂

    and, most emphatically, YES – eating something cold makes me at least ten times colder. this is why I unfortunately cannot eat ice cream in the winter. even though I might want it desperately 😦

    • hourofgold

      Aw, yay, I’m glad Annapolis lingers in your mental atlas.

      But . . . You don’t eat ice cream all winter long? That’s the saddest thing I’ve ever heard.

  2. The issue is whether it makes you ACTUALLY colder or warmer. I think we agree that it makes you FEEL colder or warmer.

Leave a comment