“The Underdog”

Some nifty science and language related miscellany for you today, some of which I’ve been hanging onto for a while.

Apparently, stalling techniques — the “ums” and “ahs” we spit out when we’re trying to think of a word — may in fact help children learn.  I will try not to let this . . . . uh . . .  [Via io9]

Also, a professor at the University of Minnesota has devoted his career to uncovering the etymology of some of the most obscure words in the English language.  He’s a latter-day James Murray.  Has anyone ever written a novel about lexicography?  Because the passions are high in this line of work, and there are even some famous faces.  I bet there’s a good story to be told.  Probably by someone other than me.

And lastly, although I’m kind of loath to pass this information on: it seems that texting actually improves children’s spelling.

5 Things:

In bed.

Encouragement.

Daph.

David Krumholtz’s adorably floppy hair.

Roses.

2 Comments

Filed under Journal

2 responses to ““The Underdog”

  1. I think that if it hadn’t been for AOL Instant Messenger, I would never have learned to type. We had typing lessons in middle school, and I was terrible at them until I started chatting. Pretty much instantaneously, I could touch-type incredibly quickly, and it’s a skill that has been massively valuable to me ever since.

    Not exactly the same as increased literacy, but I do think that exposure to words of any kind, even in a magazine or online, is a good thing. Not sure quite where I fall on the “vow to read the printed word” scale (maybe another talk for another time?), but these issues are interesting to me, and obviously pertinent to us both.

    PS – Go check the C&R dashboard!

    • hourofgold

      Interesting about AIM and your typing skills. I bet it probably increased the speed of many people of our generation’s keystrokes. And, yeah, you’re right: words are words, no matter where what media they’re in.

      And in case I haven’t mentioned it enough, C&R 10 is gorgeous and I love it.

Leave a comment